Small Business Internship Informational Webinar

Could hosting an internship propel your business forward this summer?

Join The University of Scranton SBDC and their Small Business Internship Initiative for a quick 30-minute session to learn about what a paid educational internship isdifferent types of internships (traditional, micro, hybrid or virtual), and what makes up a great internship.

Determine whether you’re ready to host an internship this coming summer and learn more about the Small Business Internship Initiative.

You’ll also learn about the Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce’s Small Business Internship Fund resource.

Registration links:

Friday, 2/17, 12 noon – 12:30 pm:

Tuesday, 2/28, 12 noon – 12:30 pm:

NEPA SHRM Hosts Event for Opioid Epidemic

NEPA SHRM hosts The Opioid Epidemic & Substance Abuse in The Work Place.

The event will take place on March 9, 2023 from 8:00-10:30AM at Top of the 80s in Hazleton, PA

Breakfast will be included.

Attendance is FREE for NEPA SHRM Members and $25 for non-members

Please Register by March 6, 2023 at

Lexington Entertainment February Music Schedule

Lexington Entertainment is hosting live music at local events throughout the month of February.

Friday, February 17, 2023 at 6:00PM-7:00 PM               

DOUG SMITH’S DIXIELAND ALL-STARS                              

Blakely/Peckville Crimewatch

Association Fundraiser – Mardi Gras Style

Fiorelli’s 1501 Main Street, Peckville PA 570-489-6777

The cost is $65

Tuesday, February 21, 2023 (Fat Tuesday) at 5:00PM-7:00PM              

DOUG SMITH’S DIXIELAND ALL-STARS                                  

  Mardi Gras Celebration – Authentic Cajun Cuisine

Villa Maria  II  1610 Washburn Street, Scranton, PA (570) 347-8010

Outreach to Host Job Fair

Outreach invites job seekers to attend the Department of Corrections Job Fair to be held at the LEAD Center at Outreach, 431 North Seventh Avenue, Scranton, on Wednesday, February 15. 2023 from 10 am to 2 pm. 

In the event of snow, the makeup date will be Friday, February 17, 2023, from 10 am to 2 pm.

The LEAD Center at Outreach is hosting an on-site job fair with the Department of Corrections. Timothy Budgeon, Lieutenant Department of Corrections Recruitment and Retention Specialist, will be on-site to provide information regarding the amazing career opportunities available with the Department of Corrections. 

Job opportunities include work with:

  • State Corrections
  • State Parole
  • State Community Corrections

The Department of Corrections has positions that cover all spectrum’s of experience and education in Civil and Non-Civil Service categories. Positions range from administrative, security, maintenance, food service, education, psychology, medical, dental, and more. Earn up to $22.28 per hour to start!

Outreach – Center for Community Resources serves over 4,500 adults and children each year by offering a variety of programs that promote family stability and economic self-sufficiency, with respect for the individual and with the highest professional standards. The LEAD Center at Outreach helps individuals overcome barriers to employment and is proud to partner with the Department of Corrections to serve our local community. For more information, contact: Jennifer Shoemaker at 570-703-0049.

Pilgers’ Pastries Offers Valentine’s Day Specials

Pilgers’ Pastries is helping you find the perfect gift this Valentine’s Day. Stop in the bakery to take part in our Valentine’s Day Lovers Basket Giveaway! One large basket valued at $80 and two small baskets valued at $25 each will be awarded February 11th, 2023. Follow us on Instagram or Facebook or check out our website for details.

Former State Rep. Mike Peifer Joins Novak Strategic Advisors

Novak Strategic Advisors today announced that former State Representative Mike Peifer has joined the firm as a Senior Advisor. Peifer most recently served in the State House of Representatives, representing the 139th legislative district – which consists of parts of Pike and Wayne Counties – for eight terms.

“We are thrilled to have Mike join the Novak Strategic team,” Novak Strategic Advisors’ Managing Partner Dan Hayward said. “Mike’s private sector experience working in the financial field and as a small business owner coupled with his vast knowledge of state government gives him unique perspective and insight on a wide range of issues affecting the Commonwealth’s business, higher education, regulatory and taxation environments. As an elected official, Mike’s leadership and consensus building skills were recognized and respected by members on both sides of the political aisle. We look forward to adding his valuable insights, knowledge and experience to the Novak team.”

Throughout his tenure in the state legislature, Peifer garnered a reputation for thoroughly understanding the state’s complex fiscal issues. As a member of the House Appropriations Committee and chair of the House Finance Committee, he was intricately involved in the Commonwealth budget process, as well as updates and changes to Pennsylvania’s Tax Code.
Additionally, for the past 6 years, Peifer has served as Chair of the Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (PHEAA). The agency administers financial aid resources and tools for Pennsylvania students. Peifer’s public service career also includes local government experience – he previously served as the Pike County Treasurer. Prior to running for office, he worked as a certified public accountant and was a senior tax consultant for Price Waterhouse.

“Novak Strategic Advisors has long been regarded as one of the most reputable, well-rounded, results driven advocacy organizations in Harrisburg and across the Pennsylvania,” Peifer said. “Whether it be public affairs, government relations or grassroots and grasstops strategies, I learned very early in my career as a state representative that when the Novak team is involved you are dealing with a slate of hard-working professionals that know the issues inside and out. I’m excited to lend my expertise to the firm and look forward to helping our clients locally, regionally and across Pennsylvania.”

For more than 20 years, Novak Strategic Advisors has offered comprehensive and targeted government relations and public affairs solutions to real-world business needs. Its unique, client-centered approach is based on personalized and focused strategies that incorporate its vast statewide networks, consensus and relationship building, and creating cohesive coalitions. To learn more about Novak Strategic, please visit its website at

Electric City Trolley Station & Museum to Host 25th Annual Winter Meet

The Event will take place at the Electric City Trolley Station & Museum, 300 Cliff Ave, Scranton PA.

The event will run during President’s Day Weekend, February 18, 19, and 20. The Hours of the event will be February 18 and 19 10:00 AM- 4:00 PM. February 20, 10:00 AM- 1:00 PM.

Come see running live steam model trains along with electric G scale and other
assorted large gauges. 2 layouts! One is a 20’ x 45’ loop, 42” high (10 foot radius.)
Also a 20’ x 50’ dual gauge (O&G) 2-track loop for live steam.
Admission to the Meet is $3.00 for adults, $3.00 for children
The Electric City Trolley will run to the Trolley Works in Moosic, PA, weather
permitting, on Saturday and Sunday, February 18 and 19. $5.00 per ticket.

Produced by the Pennsylvania Garden Railway Society, Warrior Run Loco Works,
Aikenback Live Steamers and Wyoming Valley Live Steamers. For information, call
Clem O’Jevich, Warrior Run Loco Works, 32 South Market St., Nanticoke, PA 18934.

Electric City Trolley Station and Museum 570.963.6590