The Scranton Area Community Foundation Announces Awards from the Women in Philanthropy Annual Celebration

Members News

The 2023 recipients of the Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award and the Roseann Smith Alperin Award were awarded on Wednesday, November 8, 2023, during the Women in Philanthropy Annual Event which took place at POSH at the Scranton Club.

The 2023 Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award was presented to Karen Clifford.

The 2023 Roseann Smith Alperin Award was presented to Natalie O’Hara.

“Both recipients are an inspiration to others and are recognized for their integrity and selfless dedication to our community,” stated Laura Ducceschi, President and CEO of the Scranton Area Community Foundation.

Both awards are presented annually through the support of charitable funds established at the Scranton Area Community Foundation. These charitable funds were established to memorialize a loved one and to honor qualities of leadership and excellence that exist in members of our community.

The Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award has been presented since 1992 to honor her memory and to recognize the accomplishments of women in our community while encouraging their personal and/or professional development. The Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award is presented annually to a woman whose vision, dedication, and courage have enhanced the quality of life and expanded the opportunities for the people within her community and whose creative interests, energies, and service to others have contributed substantially to the betterment of her community.

Past award recipients of the Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award have included Eleanore Ginader, Rosemary Broderick, Sharon McCrone, Catherine Richmond-Cullen, Mary Elaine Southard, Judith O. Graziano, Carol Weiss Rubel, Charlotte McIlwee Ravaioli, Diana Statsman, Susan S. Belin, Rachel R. Yaklic (10th anniversary youth recipient), Margaret “Peg” Ruddy, Sally E. Bohlin, Andrea J. Mulrine, Natalie Gelb, Mary Ann LaPorta, Sr. Margaret Gannon, IHM, Mary Belin Rhodes, Sondra Myers, Nancy Dressel, Jeanne Bovard, Suzanne Fisher Staples, Jane Oppenheim, Sister Ann Walsh, Nada Gilmartin, Michelle Dempsey, Laurie Cadden, Maria Montoro Edwards, and Teri Ooms.

The Roseann Smith Alperin Award was established in 1996 by the Junior League of Scranton to recognize an outstanding, highly engaged female volunteer who exhibits the heart and spirit of Roseann Smith Alperin by demonstrating the capacity to lead, motivate, and inspire others and the community she serves. 

Prior recipients of the Roseann Smith Alperin Award include Jane Oppenheim, Leah Rudolph, Gail Rees, Margaret Kovacic, Ellie Axford, Mary Ann LaPorta, Lynnie Siegal, Elaine Shepard, Laurie Cadden, Regina Boehm, Kathleen Kintzer, Tracy Bannon, Michele Margotta Neary, Michele Bannon, Tara Atkins, Susan Blum Connors, Anne Falzett, Katie Gilmartin, Amy Betts, Linda Robeson, Tami Prall-Nasser, and Jennifer Novak.

“The Scranton Area Community Foundation manages many charitable funds that provide awards to individuals that possess the important qualities donors would like to recognize,” Ducceschi added. “We are grateful for the opportunity to honor these incredible women during the Women in Philanthropy Annual Event each year.” During the event, Pennsylvania State Senator Rosemary M. Brown presented each award recipient with a proclamation congratulating them both on behalf of the Pennsylvania State Senate.