Scranton Area Community Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients

Members News

Twenty students from twelve different high schools in the area have been awarded a prestigious scholarship through the James F. Swift Scholarship Fund administered by the Scranton Area Community Foundation, which provides $5,000 per year for each recipient for up to four years to assist with continuing education expenses.

The following students are first-time recipients of a James F. Swift Scholarship: Emma Aversa (Old Forge), Jacquelyn Bitter (Dunmore), Kaeden Carr (Holy Cross), Jayden Evans (Mid Valley), Sadid Hassan (Scranton), Courtney Hazelton (West Scranton), Emma Illian (Abington Heights), Kendal   Johnson (Mid Valley), Lorna Lynch (Abington Heights), Connor Monahan (Riverside), Ayman Mounota (Dunmore), Julia Murphy (Carbondale Area), Gianna Natale (Scranton), Gabrielle Novak (Lakeland), Paige Pezanowski (Lakeland), Ron Prislupski (Holy Cross), Mila Racibor (Old Forge), Ethan Symuleski (Valley View), Martin Turi (West Scranton), Jayde Weibel (Scranton Preparatory).

In addition to the 20 new recipients, there were 56 James F. Swift Scholarship renewals in 2023. The following students are recipients of a James F. Swift Scholarship Renewal in 2023: Antonio Pugliese, Fione Evans, Andrew Cummings, Tori Kovalchick, Nina Sampogne, Kristen Lello, Marguerite Flynn, Ryan Turlip, Eric Spivak, Nicholas Guerra, Ashley Capone, Christopher Talluto, Rebecca Lucas, Caitlin Doughton, Olivia Manarchuck, Taylor Seprosky, Tyler Muskey, Ava Decker, Michael Rodyushkin, Kayla Rose, Hunter Geise, Benjamin Thompson, Matthew Howard, Cameron Butka, Meredith Purcell, Ryan Coleman, Sofia Capozzi, David McKenney, Alexis Tanana, Gabrielle Snee, Jillian Brennan, Christian Snee, Taralyn Reilly, Marisol Olivares, Hailey Matechak, Alyssa Cosklo, Owen Morgan, Erileidi Fernandez, Eliana King, Chloee Rumford, Dana Mackin, Michael Kazmierczak, Ava Aulisio, Mia Muskey, Molly White, Riley Clarke, Alexander Bond, Elina Joshi, Joel Cali, Sofia Flores-Weidner, Michael Sewack, Finley McHale, Ryan Salony, Ritu Regmi, Thomas Milewski, Sara McCormack.

The James F. Swift Scholarship Fund has awarded over $4 million since 2008, benefiting over 300 local students to date. Created in 2002 through a gift by Mr. James F. Swift to the Scranton Area Community Foundation, the James F. Swift Scholarship Fund provides support for higher education for students graduating from high schools in Lackawanna County. Following Mr. Swift’s death in 2006, the Scranton Area Community Foundation gratefully received a significant gift from his estate to the scholarship fund which has allowed a great number of students from Lackawanna County the opportunity to pursue their academic and professional goals through higher education.

The scholarship aims to provide an ongoing stream of matriculation at Lackawanna County colleges and universities. It is the goal of the Scranton Area Community Foundation to award 75% of the scholarships to students who plan to attend institutions of higher learning in the Lackawanna County region.

Scranton Area Community Foundation President and CEO Laura Ducceschi praised the generosity of Mr. Swift, noting “he has left a permanent and enduring legacy for the young people of our region. His scholarship fund makes higher education more attainable for generations of students.”

The Scranton Area Community Foundation is a partner with the Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (PHEAA) in their Partnership for Access to Higher Education (PATH) Program to offer qualifying students additional financial aid. Through PHEAA, these scholarship recipients may be eligible for additional dollars toward their tuition.

For more information on the James F. Swift Scholarship Fund at the Scranton Area Community Foundation, please contact Brittany Pagnotti, Communications Manager of the Scranton Area Community Foundation at 570-347-6203.