Leadership Lackawanna Awards Scholarships

From left, front row: Nicole Morristell, director, Leadership Lackawanna; Jennifer Mackey, St. Joseph’s Center; Jaka Wescott, Ronald McDonald House of Scranton; and Michelle McMaster, Fidelity Bank. Back row: Jim Kuzmak, Sanofi Pasteur; E.T. Hunter, Solar Plus; Neil Prisco, WVIA Public Media; and Carmen Brutico, Sordoni Construction Services.

Each year, Leadership Lackawanna awards scholarships to qualified candidates who need assistance paying tuition. Typically, these funds are set aside for individuals from non-profit organizations or who are sole proprietors. Due to the generosity of past donors, different scholarship funds have been established and continue to make a significant impact in our community each year.

The scholarship recipients for the Core Program Class of 2018-2019 are as follows:

  • T. Hunter of Solar Plus received the William W. and Mary L. Scranton Scholarship.
  • Jim Kuzmak of Sanofi Pasteur received the H. Leigh Woehling Scholarship.
  • Jennifer Mackey of St. Joseph’s Center received the William Rinaldi Scholarship.
  • Michelle McMaster of Fidelity Bank received the Karen O’Connell Welles Scholarship.
  • Neil Prisco of WVIA Public Media received the H. Leigh Woehling Scholarship.
  • Jaka Wescott of the Ronald McDonald House received both the Margaret Briggs Scholarship and the Government Leadership Award Fund of the Scranton Area Foundation.