Commonwealth Health Welcomes Melissa Bertha, D.O.

Commonwealth Health Physician Network recently welcomed Melissa Bertha, D.O. to its primary care team.

Board-certified in family medicine, she is a 2013 graduate of Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, Philadelphia, and completed residency in 2016 at Suburban Community Hospital, Norristown.

Located at Commonwealth Health Physician Network, 1789 North Keyser Ave. Scranton; Dr. Bertha will provide personalized medical care to patients of all ages from adolescent to senior adulthood.

David McHale Joins NBT Bank

David McHale has joined NBT Bank as senior vice president and senior commercial banking relationship manager. He will maintain offices in the bank’s Kingston Office and in its Scranton Financial Center on Keyser Avenue. Mr. McHale has more than 30 years of experience in commercial banking.

Needle Law Attornys Named to 2019 Super Lawyers List

Needle Law P.C. has announced that two of its firm’s attorneys, P. Timothy Kelly and Nicholas S. Mattise, have been named to the 2019 Super Lawyers List. No more than five percent of lawyers practicing in Pennsylvania are selected by Super Lawyers, which is a rating service of outstanding lawyers from more than 70 practice areas who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement.

PennDOT Employee Recognized

Robert A. Kretschmer P.E., Wayne County, District Traffic Engineer, was recently recognized with the 2019 PennDOT District 4-0 Charles M. Mattei Award. In order to receive the award, an employee must have completed 10 years of service as a PennDOT employee, participate in PennDOT as a whole, be involved in the community, be willing to go above and beyond the normal job description, and have safety as a top priority in the workplace.

Peoples Security Charitable Foundation Supports Serving Seniors Inc.

Peoples Security Charitable Foundation recently contributed $2,000 to Serving Seniors, Inc. This donation will benefit the Guardianship of Person program, which provides quality guardianship services to clients and makes every effort to assist and support their clients in the development of maximum self-reliance and independence.


Geisinger Community Medical Center Recognized


The Association for the Health Care Environment (AHE) recently announced that the Environmental Services Department at Geisinger Community Medical Center (GCMC) has been honored as Environmental Services Department of the Year among U.S. teams operating in facilities of similar size.

The national recognition is presented for significant contributions to overall patient experience and achieving a health care organization’s mission. It denotes outstanding achievements of forward-looking EVS departments in maintaining high performance levels in cleaning, disinfecting, infection prevention, environmental sustainability and stewardship, technology use, patient satisfaction, education, and training in critical areas.

The honor is bestowed yearly on one facility in each of three categories: 1 to 249 beds, 250 to 499 beds, and 500 plus beds. GCMC received the award for the 250 to 499-bed field.


The Wright Center for Community Health Auxiliaryand Patient Engagement Council Summer Lunch Giveaway Held

The Wright Center for Community Health Auxiliary, in collaboration with The Wright Center for Community Health’s Patient Engagement Council, recently hosted several lunch giveaways for children in Jermyn and Clarks Summit. Backpacks and supplies for school-aged children were also distributed at these events.

The Wright Center for Community Health Auxiliary hosts fundraisers throughout the year to assist patients, community members and local non-profit organizations. The group spearheads food banks, provides gas cards and leads special outreach efforts to make personal connections with patients, ease hardships and build a sense of community.


PennDOT Star of Excellence Award

Charles DeFebo and Michael Nesgoda recently received the Star of Excellence Award from PennDOT District 4-0. The Star of Excellence Awards are presented annually to employees who represent the department’s values of service, performance and integrity. The recipients represent a variety of organizational positions, spanning from highway maintenance and driver and vehicle services workers, to traffic control specialists, communications staff and design and engineering specialists.