January 2019 President’s Message: “Celebrating Our Member Businesses”

This issue of Momentum highlights the results of this year’s Scranton Awards for Growth and Excellence – better known as The SAGE Awards.

The awards process is always exciting to me, not from the standpoint of competition, but rather as a snapshot of all the exciting and positive things happening among the members of the Chamber.

Over 80 applications were submitted for consideration across 14 categories.  In looking over these submittals, two important issues stood out to me: firstly, the applicants were businesses both big and small, long-standing and newly-minted, private companies and non-profit organizations, all crossing dozens of business sectors.

Secondly, the nominees came from four counties, which shows that the Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce offers services that cross traditional geographic lines, and have a regional impact and appeal.

In addition, the Gala at which the nominees were fêted was a fun, rollicking affair.  The only problem was that my tuxedo seemed to have shrunk while hanging in my closet! Funny how that happens.



Scranton YP


Scranton YP program held its “Not So Silent Night” mixer at the Marketplace at Steamtown.

University of Scranton


Students from Dr. Kim Pavlick’s journalism class at the University of Scranton recently participated in a #TheChamberCanHelp project where they wrote feature articles on Chamber members for our website.

Misericordia University Speaker


Scranton YP welcomed guest speaker Molly Lorenzen of Misericordia University to its “Nosh and Knowledge” event at the Samters Lofts.

Terra Preta Prime


The Chamber hosted a Meet Up for Lunch event at Terra Preta Prime.

Logistics Session


The Chamber and Skills in Scranton recently welcomed Educator in the Workplace participants to a session on logistics and transportation.

Everhart Museum


The Chamber helped celebrate the unveiling of recent renovations to the Everhart Museum.

Benco Dental


The Chamber held a Meet Up for Lunch event at Benco Dental in Pittston.

Scranton LaunchBox Opens in South Scranton


Penn State Scranton is expanding its efforts to promote innovation and economic development in northeast Pennsylvania by combining the resources of Penn State with local businesses, economic development organizations and entrepreneurs.

The newly-unveiled Scranton LaunchBox is a pre-incubator/accelerator that will help advance local entrepreneurial concepts to business plan development using the resources of Penn State. The new facility is housed at 611 Cedar Avenue in Scranton, where it will remain until design work is completed on its future permanent location inside the adjacent Peoples Security Bank.

The Scranton LaunchBox is a no-cost startup accelerator and co-working space designed to provide early-stage startup companies with the support and resources needed to build a sustainable business and a viable plan for growth. It is open to community members and those affiliated with Penn State.

The Scranton LaunchBox was planned in conjunction with United Neighborhood Centers (UNC), the Scranton Area Foundation, Peoples Security Bank, the Scranton Community Foundation, Women In Philanthropy, the Small Business Development Center at the University of Scranton, the Allan P. Kirby Center for Free Enterprise at Wilkes University and DxDempsey.

AHSD Teacher Recognized


Marilyn Pryle, a teacher at Abington Heights High School, has been named the 2019 Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year.  Ms. Pryle was one of 12 Teacher of the Year finalists. Nominations for the Teacher of the Year were submitted by students, parents, peers and members of the community wishing to honor and recognize educator achievements both inside and outside of the classroom.  As Pennsylvania’s Teacher of the Year, she will travel the state, meet and collaborate with other educators, as well as represent the Commonwealth in next year’s National Teacher of the Year competition.

The Teacher of the Year program is co-sponsored by the Pennsylvania Department of Education and the Pennsylvania chapter of the National State Teacher of the Year, which was founded in 1995.